Marvel Graphic Novel Collection Issue 38 Review | Sidekickcast

The Chin Report Thor339

Published on September 10th, 2013 | by Mike Harding


Marvel Graphic Novel Collection Issue 38 Review

The 38th book to be released in the collection (number 5 on the spine) is one that splits the sidekicks down the middle.  There is a good reason for this, and if you listened to the latest Bumchin Takeover (Sidekickcast episode 82), then you may already know the reason.  This book is Thor: The Last Viking, which is written, illustrated, and inked by Walter Simonson (Dan is not a fan).


The book reprints the story that ran between Thor issues 337 to 343, which was originally published way back in 1983 (making it 30 years old in November this year).  The book introduces one of Marvel’s favourite aliens in the form of Beta Ray Bill, who is not even really the star of the story.


The book begins with the story entitled “Doom”, in which SHIELD approach Thor for help after they discover an alien ship heading toward earth.  Thor approaches the ship and discovers Beta Ray Bill, who not only gives Thor a beating, but he also does the seemingly impossible and lifts Thor’s Hammer, leaving Thor trapped on Earth in his mortal for of Donald Blake.


The story continues in “A Fool and his Hammer” in which we learn the origin of Beta Ray Bill, and the fate of his people, and we also get a great confrontation between Bill and Thor with Mjlonir as the prize, the battle is really well plotted, with Bill the ultimate winner.  Not only that, but he also decides that Odin’s “Battle to the Death” rule is stupid, and so saves Thor’s life.


In “Something old, something new”, the story slows down a bit, with Thor and Bill spending time in Asgard, whilst Lady Sif is sent on a mission for Odin.  This part of the book ends with the creation of Beta Ray Bill’s hammer Stormbreaker, and Thor, Bill and Sif flying off into space to confront the evil that has been targeting Bill’s people.


“Though Hel shall bar the way”, deals with the climactic battle against the evil force polluting the universe.  We then get a section dealing with the fallout of this story, which has Bill leaving to find the remnants of his people in the company of lady Sif.


The actual story of the Last Viking doesn’t actually start until issue 343, and issue 341 is a filler story that introduces Thor’s new human persona of Sigurd Jarlson.  When the story does start, we meets a Viking named Eilif the lost, who seeks to trap Thor in order to guarantee his way into Valhalla, when Thor will lose his temper and kill him.  Naturally, this does not go to plan and the pair team up to defeat a villain that Thor faced in the previous issue.


In regards to value for money, there are no hardback versions of the book available at this time, and the only other version of it is in “Thor – Walter Simonson Volume 1” which currently is available in paperback for around £15.


The extra features in this book are pretty poor with only feature on Walter Simonson, and an artist sketchpad featuring character designs.  Naturally at this point in the collection there are no new reveals available.


The next book to be released will be Mark Millar’s Civil War, which is one of Marvel’s on-going series of events that continue to tie in to one another and launch new titles.


This latest release leaves the list looking like this:


*Titles in BOLD have already been released*

Book 01: Iron Man: Demon in a bottle

Book 02: Uncanny X-men: Dark Phoenix

Book 03: Captain Britain: A Crooked World

Book 04: Wolverine

Book 05: The Mighty Thor: The Last Viking

Book 06: Marvel Super Heroes Secret Wars part 1

Book 07: Marvel Super Heroes Secret Wars part 2

Book 08: Daredevil: Born Again

Book 09: The Amazing Spider-Man: The Birth of Venom

Book 10: Spider-man: Kraven’s Last Hunt

Book 11: The Incredible Hulk: Silent Screams

Book 12: Wolverine: Weapon X

Book 13: Marvels

Book 14: Avengers: Avengers Forever Part one

Book 15: Avengers: Avengers Forever Part two

Book 16: The Mighty Thor: In Search of Gods

Book 17: Daredevil: Guardian Devil

Book 18: The Punisher: Welcome Back Frank Part 1

Book 19: The Punisher: Welcome Back Frank Part 2

Book 20: Ultimate Spider-man: Power & Responsibility

Book 21: Spider-man: Coming Home

Book 22: Spider-man: Revelations

Book 23: New X-men: E is for Extinction

Book 24: New X-men: Imperial

Book 25: Spider-man: Blue

Book 26: Wolverine: Origins

Book 27: Captain America: The New Deal

Book 28: The Ultimates: Super-Human

Book 29: The Ultimates: Homeland Security

Book 30: Fantastic Four: Unthinkable

Book 31: Fantastic Four: Authoritative Action

Book 32: 1602

Book 33: Secret War

Book 34: Avengers: Disassembled

Book 35: She-Hulk: Single Green Female

Book 36: Astonishing X-men: Gifted

Book 37: Astonishing X-men: Dangerous

Book 38: Black Panther: Who is the Black Panther?

Book 39: Ghost Rider: Road to Damnation

Book 40: House of M

Book 42: New Avengers: Breakout

Book 43: Iron Man: Extremis

Book 44: Captain America: Winter Soldier

Book 45: The Incredible Hulk: Planet Hulk part 1

Book 46: The Incredible Hulk: Planet Hulk part 2

Book 47: Fantastic Four: The End

Book 48: Marvel Zombies

Book 50: Civil War

Book 51: Fallen Son: Death of Captain America

Book 52: Thor: Reborn

Book 53: The Eternals

Book 54: Captain America: The Chosen

Book 55: World War Hulk

Book 56: Thunderbolts: Faith in Monsters

Book 57: Wolverine: Old Man Logan

Book 58: Secret Invasion

Book 59: Captain Britain & MI13: Vampire State

Book 60: Siege


Tags: , , , ,

About the Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to Top ↑

x Shield Logo
This Site Is Protected By
The Shield →